

# California State Controller Malia M. Cohen Unclaimed Property Division

## Remitting Unclaimed Property Via Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

Holders remitting payments of \$2,000 or more must pay via Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), but it is the recommended method for any remittance amount. This guide explains how to register for EFT.

Reminder: Do not send remittance with the Notice Report; it will be returned as early remittance.

# **Step 1: Choose an EFT Remit Method**



- There are four methods for making EFT remittances: Automated Clearinghouse (ACH)
   Debit (recommended), ACH Credit, Fedwire, and International Funds Transfer (IFT).
- Select the EFT method that best suits your business needs.
- First-time reporters should contact the Reporting Unit at <u>UCPReporting@sco.ca.gov</u> or (916) 464-6284 to verify reporting details, such as Report ID and FEIN.

#### Step 2: Complete and Submit a Registration Form



- Complete an authorization agreement form <u>EFT-1</u> (ACH or IFT accounts) <u>or</u> registration form <u>EFT-3</u> (Fedwire accounts).
- Be sure to include your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).
- Submit it to SCO's EFT Help Desk at UPDSCOEFT@sco.ca.gov.
- EFT authorization/registration forms must be reviewed and approved before April 30
  to avoid delays or penalties, so submit as soon as possible. You may also upload EFT
  forms when submitting the Notice Report using the online Holder Reporting Portal.

### **Step 3: Review Payment Instructions and Transfer Funds**



- Holders receive payment instructions via email or fax from SCO upon approval.
- Prior to transferring funds, email the Report ID number and the amount remitted for each report to the EFT Help Desk.
- Save the transaction record and confirmation number.
- Late EFT payments may be assessed <u>CCP section 1577</u> interest on the amount due.
   Payments by check for \$2,000 or more are subject to penalty fees of 2%.



Holders who have previously registered for EFT do not need to re-register unless there is a change of EFT method or contact information.



Do

- Submit your registration or authorization form EFT-1 or EFT-3 with the Notice Report or as soon as possible. It must be processed before April 30.
- Verify EFT payments are feasible with your financial institution or payables department.
- Sign and date registration or authorization forms.
   Electronic signatures are acceptable.
- Contact the EFT Help Desk with any questions.



**DON'T** 

- Do not put company name under Contact Information. Instead, select a staff member SCO may contact directly if needed.
- Do not re-register each year unless the EFT method or contact info has changed.
- or the online <u>Holder Reporting Portal</u> with the Notice Report.

Select the option Controller Malia M. Cohen California State Controller's Off Unclaimed Property Division that applies to you. AUTHORIZATION AGREEMENT FOR ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER (EFT-1) Be sure to include a **Federal Employer ID** HOLDER INFORMATION FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID# (FEIN) Number (FEIN). SCO ADDRESS cannot process STATE REMITTER TYPE CODE (also known as PROPERTY HOLDER TYPE CODE) PROPERTY HOLDER TYPE CODE)

CONTACT INFORMATION (for EFT Registration) forms without FEINs. EMAIL PHONE EXT SECTION II ☐ ACH DEBIT Electronic ☐ I have verified our company's Financial Institution can originate an ACH Debit transaction in the required record field. signatures are ☐ ACH CREDIT acceptable. ☐ I have field. DATE TITLE ☐ INTERNATIONAL FUNDS T SECTION IV Include the title of SIGNATURE TITLE DATE contact person or other authorized For EFT assistance Call (916) 464-6220 or Email updscoeff@sco ca.gov
Return this completed EFT-1 Form by Fax to (916) 464-6224, Email to updscoeff@sco ca.gov or mail to
State Controller's Office, Unclaimed Property Division, Attention: EFT Desk
P.O. Box 94/2850, Saramento, CA 94/250-5873 personnel. 1 of 3

See form instructions for Remitter Type Codes. Use 05 for Business Associations if no other options apply.

List a specific staff member SCO may contact directly. DO NOT list the business name and general contact info here.

Do not leave the date blank. Failure to date the form may result in processing delays.

For further information, refer to the Remit Report Checklist and GoReport.sco.ca.gov.

#### **EFT Help Desk**

(916) 464-6220

UPDSCOEFT@sco.ca.gov

#### We're Here to Help!

The OCU educates holders through free online training, public events, and more.

Register for a webinar or contact the OCU to schedule one-on-one assistance.

www.GoReport.sco.ca.gov •

www.ClaimIt.ca.gov