California State Controller’s Office
Proposed Regulatory Action: Regulations Governing the Submission of Claims for
Unclaimed Property Held by the California State Controller
Proposed Regulation Text

Title 2. Administration
Division 2 - Financial Operations
Chapter 2 - State Controller
Subchapter 8 - Unclaimed Property Law

The California Controller is proposing to add the following regulations to Article 6 of the above-
referenced portion of the California Code of Regulations.

Article 6: Regulations Governing Claiming Unclaimed Property

§ +360 1180.59.Statement of Purpose and Authority to Establish Guidelines for Claiming
Unclaimed Property

The purpose of these regulations is to formalize the procedures and format for owners claiming
unclaimed property held by the State Controller and to effectuate the legislative mandate set
forth in Code of Civil Procedure § 1501.5(c) to reunite owners with their property.

Authority: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.

Reference: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.

§ 4364+ 1180.60. Submission of Claims

Any person claiming property held by the California State Controller’s Office per California

Unclaimed Property Law, California Code of Civil Procedure Section 1500 et. Cet. must submit
an Unclaimed Property Claim Affirmation Form (6/4/2024), hereby incorporated by reference,
signed under penalty of perjury and sufficient documentation to prove entitlement to the claimed
property or properties, and the claimant’s identity as outlined in regulation 1180.61 of this set of
regulations.




The above referenced claim form, which is hereby incorporated by reference, must include the
claimant’s name, the property identification number of all claimed properties, a signature under
penalty of perjury verifying the claim, the date of the signature, and an address. If possible, the
claimant must provide an email, phone number, driver’s license number, and a tax identification
number such as a social security number or a Federal Employer Identification Number.

A claim form must be notarized if: the total value of the claim is $1,000.00 or greater: the claim
is for the contents of a safety deposit box; or the claim is for securities.

The claimant may also submit a claim for unclaimed property electronically via the Controller’s
website. A claim initiated on the Controller’s website and signed electronically shall constitute a
claim. The Controller’s website is also where a claimant can find Property Identification Numbers
for unclaimed property (https://www.sco.ca.gov/).

Authority: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.
Reference: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.

§ $302 1180.61.Reguired-Supporting Documentation

The State Controller shall require the claimant, or an authorized representative, to submit
sufficient documentation to substantiate the claimant’s identity and demonstrate that the claimant
is the rightful owner as defined in section 1540(d) of the California Code of Civil Procedure
before a payment will be authorized. Sufficient documentation includes, but is not limited to, the
listed recommended evidence in the Claim Filing Instructions and Requested Documentation
(4/6/2022), which is hereby incorporated by reference.

Authority: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.
Reference: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.

§ 4303 1180.62. Additional Reguired-Supporting Documentation for Claiming the Property of
Deceased Owners

In addition to documentation reguired by submitted under Section 4363 1180.61, the-State
Controllershall-require the claimant te shall submit sufficient documentation to substantiate that
the reported owner of the property being claimed is deceased, the claimant’s association to the
deceased property owner, and entitlement to the deceased owner’s property that is being claimed
before a payment will be authorized. Sufficient documentation includes, but is not limited to, the
listed recommended evidence in the Deceased Owner Heir Claim Filing Instructions and
Requested Documentation (5/5/2022), which is hereby incorporated by reference.

Authority: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.
Reference: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.




§ 1304 1180.63. Reguired-Additional Supporting Documentation for Claims on Behalf of a Business
Entity

The State Controller shall require the claimant, or an authorized representative, to submit
sufficient documentation to substantiate the business entity’s Federal Employer Identification
Number, if applicable, that the business entity is in good standing with the California Secretary of
State, if applicable, that the claimant is authorized to claim on behalf of the business entity, and
that the business entity is the owner of the property before a payment will be authorized.
Sufficient documentation includes, but is not limited to, the listed recommended evidence in the
Business Claim Filing Instructions and Requested Documentation (1/11/2018), which is hereby
incorporated by reference.

Authority: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.
Reference: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §

1540.

§ 4306 1180.64.Claims Consideration

The State Controller’s Office will consider a claim, and render a determination as to the validity
of the claim, within one hundred eighty (180) days of receipt of a completed claims package. If
the claim is denied in whole or in part, the State Controller shall provide the claimant with a
written notification of the denial.

Authority: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.

Reference: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540, California Code of Civil Procedure § 1541.

§ 1367 1180.65. Asset Recovery Agreements

The State Controller shall process claims filed under asset recovery agreements submitted by
organizations, private investigators, attorneys, heir finders, and other individuals or entities only
if the State Controller determines the agreement to be in compliance with Code of Civil
Procedures Section 1582. Attorneys who submit claims based under asset recovery agreements
may submit a declaration under penalty of perjury stating that the asset recovery agreement



complies with Section 1582 in lieu of providing the actual asset recovery agreement.

Authority: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540.

Reference: California Code of Civil Procedure § 1580, California Code of Civil Procedure §
1540, California Code of Civil Procedure § 1582.




	§ 1300 1180.59.Statement of Purpose and Authority to Establish Guidelines for Claiming Unclaimed Property
	§ 1301 1180.60. Submission of Claims
	§ 1302 1180.61. Required Supporting Documentation
	§ 1303 1180.62. Additional Required Supporting Documentation for Claiming the Property of Deceased Owners
	§ 1304 1180.63. Required Additional Supporting Documentation for Claims on Behalf of a Business Entity
	§ 1305. Incomplete Claim Package
	§ 1306 1180.64. Claims Consideration
	§ 1307 1180.65. Asset Recovery Agreements

