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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 

How does the claim process work? 

 

SCO staff carefully review each claim.  If 

the documentation you provide is not 

adequate to prove your legal entitlement 

to the property, SCO will contact you and 

explain why.  SCO is required by law to 

consider all claims within 180 days from 

the date SCO receives a complete claim 

package. 

 

Is there a time limit for claiming  

my property from SCO? 

 

No. There is no time limit to file a claim.   

 

What is a property identification 

number? 

 

SCO assigns a unique number to each 

unclaimed property account. Please 

include this number in all inquiries about 

your claim.  

 

How will I know if SCO received my 

claim? 

 

SCO will mail a claim receipt letter to you 

after receiving your claim. You can also 

visit claimit.ca.gov and click on “Claim 

Status Search.”  

How long will it take for my  

claim to be processed? 

 

After SCO receives all required 

documentation, simple cash claims may 

be processed within 30 to 60 days.  More 

complex claims involving high-dollar cash 

properties, securities, or claims filed by 

heirs are generally processed within 180 

days.   

 

Will I be paid interest on the property  

for the time SCO protected the property?  

 

No. The law does not allow interest to be 

paid on property held by the State of 

California.   

 

What if I contact a holder to claim my 

property before it is turned over to SCO 

and the holder is not responsive?  

 

If the holder does not respond to your 

requests, please contact SCO for 

assistance at (800) 992-4647.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More information on Unclaimed Property: 



 
BACKGROUND 

 

Since 1959, California’s Unclaimed Property 

Law has required holders (such as financial 

institutions, corporations, businesses, and 

insurance companies) to report and submit 

unclaimed property (such as bank accounts, 

stocks, bonds, uncashed checks, and safe 

deposit box contents) to the State Controller’s 

Office (SCO) when there has been no activity 

on an account for three years.   

 

The law was enacted to prevent holders from 

assuming ownership of property when contact 

with the original owner has been lost.  The 

law also allows the state government to 

return property, or money from the sale of 

the property, to its rightful owner.  SCO 

provides a single source to check for 

unclaimed property sent to the State of 

California by holders from around the nation. 

 

HOW DOES THE STATE CONTROLLER 

RECEIVE PROPERTY? 

 

A holder must send a notice to the last known 

address of the property owner.  If the holder 

receives no response to the notice, the holder 

reports information about the owner’s 

property to SCO.  

 

 

SCO will then notify the property owner that 

the holder will send the property to SCO if the 

owner does not contact the holder by a 

certain date.  SCO will share information on 

how to contact the holder to claim the 

property.  The notice is sent to the owner’s 

last known address reported by the holder or, 

if available, to an updated address provided 

by the California Franchise Tax Board.  SCO 

urges owners to contact holders in response 

to this notice.  

 

If the property is not claimed by the owner, 

the holder will turn over the property to SCO, 

where the owner or heirs can claim it. 

 

DO YOU HAVE PROPERTY TO CLAIM? 

 

It is easy to find out if SCO is safeguarding 

property in your name.  Search the database 

at claimit.ca.gov.  

 

After property is sent to SCO, if you are the 

property owner or heir you may directly claim 

your property free of charge.  If an heir finder, 

investigator, or asset locator represents you 

instead, that person may charge you a fee of 

up to 10 percent of the property’s value.   

 

 

 

If you find property that belongs to you in 

the SCO database, complete the online form 

to claim your property electronically or call 

(800) 992-4647 for assistance. 

 

Claim instructions and a list of documents 

required to validate your claim are at 

claimit.ca.gov. 

 

You also can print and mail a claim form to: 

 

State Controller’s Office 

Unclaimed Property Division 

P.O. Box 942850 

Sacramento, CA 94250-5873 

 

 

My property identification numbers: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.claimit.ca.gov/

