## California Actuarial Advisory Panel



Paul Angelo Chairperson Retired

John Bartel Vice Chairperson Retired

David Driscoll
Principal and Consulting
Actuary
Buck Consultants, LLC

Anne Harper Principal Consulting Actuary Cheiron, Inc.

David Lamoureux Deputy System Actuary California State Teachers' Retirement System

Graham Schmidt Principal Consulting Actuary Cheiron, Inc.

> Todd Tauzer Senior Vice President and Actuary Segal

> > Scott Terando Chief Actuary CalPERS

January XX, 2025

Ms. Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, CA 95814

SUBJECT: The California Actuarial Advisory Panel's 2023 Annual Report to the California Legislature

Dear Ms. Parker:

Pursuant to Government Code section 7507.2, the California Actuarial Advisory Panel (the Panel) is pleased to submit its annual report. During 2023, the Panel met four times and continued to fulfill its statutory responsibilities. Specifically the Panel:

 In October, released a letter regarding the PEPRA Maximum Compensation Limits for 2024.

The Panel remains ready to assist the Governor and Legislature with analysis of any public pension or OPEB issues. The Panel has unique insight into pension plans and pension issues, not only from a technical view, but as retirement experts with many years of pension and retiree medical experience.

The members of the Panel appreciate serving the citizens of California and would welcome any opportunity to discuss the matters raised in this report.

Sincerely,

Paul Angelo Chair, California Actuarial Advisory Panel

cc: Panel members

John Bartel, Vice Chair

David Driscoll

Anne Harper

**David Lamoureux** 

Graham Schmidt

**Todd Tauzer** 

Scott Terando

Gavin Newsom, California Governor

Malia M. Cohen, California State Controller

Fiona Ma, California State Treasurer

Joe Stephenshaw, Finance Director, Department of Finance

Eraina Ortega, Director, Department of Human Resources

Tina McKinnor, Chair, Assembly Committee on Public Employment and Retirement

Dave Cortese, Chair, Senate Labor, Public Employment and Retirement Committee

Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office

Robert Rivas, Speaker of the Assembly

Toni G. Atkins, Chair, Senate Rules Committee

Marcie Frost, Chief Executive Officer, CalPERS

Cassandra Lichnock, Chief Executive Officer, CalSTRS

Dr. Michael V. Drake, President, University of California

David MacDonald, President, State Association of County Retirement Systems

## California Actuarial Advisory Panel



Paul Angelo Chairperson Retired

John Bartel Vice Chairperson Retired

David Driscoll
Principal and Consulting
Actuary
Buck Consultants, LLC

Anne Harper Principal Consulting Actuary Cheiron, Inc.

David Lamoureux Deputy System Actuary California State Teachers' Retirement System

Graham Schmidt
Principal Consulting Actuary
Cheiron, Inc.

Todd Tauzer Senior Vice President and Actuary Segal

> Scott Terando Chief Actuary CalPERS

January XX, 2025

Ms. Erika Contreras Secretary of the Senate State Capitol, Room 305 Sacramento, CA 95814

SUBJECT: The California Actuarial Advisory Panel's 2023 Annual Report to the California Legislature

Dear Ms. Contreras:

Pursuant to Government Code section 7507.2, the California Actuarial Advisory Panel (the Panel) is pleased to submit its annual report. During 2023, the Panel met four times and continued to fulfill its statutory responsibilities. Specifically the Panel:

 In October, released a letter regarding the PEPRA Maximum Compensation Limits for 2024.

The Panel remains ready to assist the Governor and Legislature with analysis of any public pension or OPEB issues. The Panel has unique insight into pension plans and pension issues, not only from a technical view, but as retirement experts with many years of pension and retiree medical experience.

The members of the Panel appreciate serving the citizens of California and would welcome any opportunity to discuss the matters raised in this report.

Sincerely,

Paul Angelo Chair, California Actuarial Advisory Panel

cc: Panel members

John Bartel, Vice Chair

David Driscoll

Anne Harper

David Lamoureux

**Graham Schmidt** 

**Todd Tauzer** 

Scott Terando

Gavin Newsom, California Governor

Malia M. Cohen, California State Controller

Fiona Ma, California State Treasurer

Joe Stephenshaw, Finance Director, Department of Finance

Eraina Ortega, Director, Department of Human Resources

Tina McKinnor, Chair, Assembly Committee on Public Employment and Retirement

Dave Cortese, Chair, Senate Labor, Public Employment and Retirement Committee

Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office

Robert Rivas, Speaker of the Assembly

Toni G. Atkins, Chair, Senate Rules Committee

Marcie Frost, Chief Executive Officer, CalPERS

Cassandra Lichnock, Chief Executive Officer, CalSTRS

Dr. Michael V. Drake, President, University of California

David MacDonald, President, State Association of County Retirement Systems