Office of the State Controller
State-Mandated Costs Claiming Instructions No. 2021-03
Sexual Assault Evidence Kits: Testing — Program No. 378

Revised October 1, 2024

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible
claimants may submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of
costs incurred for state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming
instructions and forms that eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Sexual
Assault Evidence Kits: Testing program, SCO issues these claiming instructions
subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s
Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are an integral part of the claiming
instructions and are located on CSM’s website.

On July 23, 2021, the CSM adopted a Decision finding that the test claim statute
imposed a reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies within the
meaning of Article Xlll B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514.

Exception

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

Eligible Claimants

Any city, county, or city and county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs
increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement.

Reimbursement Claim Deadline

Pursuant to GC section 17560(a), annual reimbursement claims may be filed by
February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the deadline falls
on a weekend or holiday, claims are due the following business day. Claims filed after
the deadline must be reduced by a late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after
the deadline will not be accepted.

Penalty

¢ Initial Reimbursement Claims

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late
penalty of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant
to GC section 17561 (d)(3).

e Annual Reimbursement Claims

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a
late penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to
GC section 17568.


https://www.csm.ca.gov/decisions/20-TC-01-092921.pdf

Minimum Claim Cost

GC section 17564 (a) states that no claim may be filed pursuant to
GC sections 17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars
($1,000).

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs
may be claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents
that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to
the reimbursable activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the
actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may
include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets,
invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to,
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts,
agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or
declaration stating: “I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the
State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” and must further comply with
the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal
government requirements. However, these documents cannot be substituted for source
documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to
the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in
accordance with the SCQ’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM.
If any adjustments are made to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount
adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to

GC section 17558.5 (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is
subject to audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual
reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds
were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal
year for which the claim was filed, the time for the SCO to initiate an audit will
commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.



Record Retention

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained during the period
subject to audit and made available to the SCO upon request. The period subject to
audit is at a minimum, three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is
filed or last amended, whichever is later, or, if no funds are appropriated or no payment
is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed,
three years after the date of initial payment of the claim. If an audit has been initiated by
the SCO during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting documents must be made available
to the SCO on request.

Claim Submission

Electronic submissions of the signed Form FAM-27, all other forms, and supporting
documentation are accepted through an online file transfer protocol called the Data
Exchange Portal (DEP). All information regarding DEP is available on the SCO’s
website.

If submitting via mail, submit the documents listed for electronic submission and include
an additional copy of the Form FAM-27 to:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Local Government Programs and Services Division
P.O. Box 942850

Sacramento, CA 94250

Address, if delivered by other delivery service:

Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Local Government Programs and Services Division
3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email.


https://www.sco.ca.gov/submitaclaimelectronically.html
mailto:LRSLGPSD@sco.ca.gov
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State Controller’s Office Mandated Cost Manual for Local Agencies
SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS: TESTING | (10) pemmnommonrs | | oo M
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT FORM (20) D Fied 378
(21) LRS Input
(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data
(02) Claimant Name (22) |FORM 1, (04) A.1.(f)
County of Location (23) |[FORM 1, (04) A.2.(f)
Street Address or P.O. Box and Suite (24) |FORM 1, (04) B.1.(f)
City, State, and Zip Code (25) |[FORM 1, (04) B.2.(f)
(03) Type of Claim (26) |[FORM 1, (06)
(04) (09) Reimbursement L] (27) |FORM 1, (07)
(05) (10) Combined [] (28) |FORM 1, (09)
(06) (11) Amended [] (29) |FORM 1, (10)
(07) (12) Fiscal Year of Cost (30)
(08) (13) Total Claimed Amount (31)
(14) Less: 10% Late Penalty (32)
(15) Less: Prior Claim Payment Received (33)
(16) Net Claimed Amount (34)
(17) Due from State (35)
(18) Due to State (36)

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code sections 17560 and 17561, | certify that | am the officer
authorized by the local agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify
under penalty of perjury that | have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1
of the Government Code.

| further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received
for reimbursement of costs claimed herein, and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services
of an existing program. All offsetting revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines
are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently maintained by the claimant.

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the
attached statements.

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer Date Signed
Telephone Number

Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory Email Address

(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim Telephone Number
Email Address

Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer Telephone Number
Email Address

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS: TESTING FORM
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT
378 INSTRUCTIONS FAM-27

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’'s Office.

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address,
city, state, and zip code.

(03) to (08) Leave blank.
(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.

(10) Not applicable.

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11)
Amended.

(12) Enter the fiscal year in which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more
than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete a separate Form FAM-27 for each
fiscal year.

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1, line (11). The

total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum claim must be $1,001.

(14) Initial reimbursement claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions.
Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or as specified in the
claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims
filed after the specified date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim
was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the result from the following penalty calculation
formula:

e Late Initial Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%,
without limitation; or

e Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by
10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000.

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was
received, enter zero.

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line
(13).

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from
State.

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to
State.

(19) to (21) Leave blank.

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS: TESTING FORM
378 CLAIM FOR PAYMENT EAM-27
INSTRUCTIONS (CONTINUED)

(22) to (29)

(30) to (36)
(37)

(38)

Bring forward the cost information as specified in the left-hand column of lines (22)
through (29) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., Form 1, (04) A. 1. (f), means the
information is located on Form 1, block (04), line A. 1., column (f). Enter the information
on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to
the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. The indirect costs percentage should be shown as a
whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35.
Completion of this data block will expedite the process.

Leave blank.

Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be signed and dated by
the agency’s authorized officer, and include their typed or printed name, title,
telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by
an original signed certification. Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink or electronic
signature. If submitting by U.S. Postal Service or by other delivery service, attach a
copy of the FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.

Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for
the claim. If the claim was prepared by a consultant, type or print the name of the
consulting firm, claim preparer, telephone number, and email address.

Electronic submissions of the signed Form FAM-27, all other forms, and
supporting documentation are accepted through an online file transfer protocol
called the Data Exchange Portal (DEP). All information regarding DEP is available
on the SCO’s website.

If submitting via mail, submit the documents listed for electronic submission and include
an additional copy of the Form FAM-27 to:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Local Government Programs and Services Division
P.O. Box 942850

Sacramento, CA 94250

Address, if delivered by other delivery service:

Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Local Government Programs and Services Division
3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email.

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS: TESTING FORM

378 CLAIM SUMMARY 1

(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20__/20__

(03) Department

Direct Costs Object Accounts
S I(a)' B (b)f' M o I C o F'(e)d T(f) I
. .. alaries enefits aterials ontract IXe otal
(04) Reimbursable Activities and Services | Assets
Supplies

A. A law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction a sex offense specified in Penal Code (PC) sections
261, 261.5, 262, 286, 287, 289, or former section 288a occurred shall do one of the following for any
sexual assault forensic evidence received by the law enforcement agency on or after January 1, 2016:

1. Submit sexual assault forensic evidence to the crime lab within
20 days after booked into evidence; or

2. Ensure that a rapid turnaround DNA program is in place (with a
written agreement between the law enforcement agency, the crime
lab, and the medical facility pursuant to PC section 680(c)(5)) to
submit sexual assault forensic evidence directly from the medical
facility examining the victim to the crime lab within five days.

(PC 680(c)(1), Stats. 2019, Ch. 588.)

B. For any sexual assault forensic evidence received on or after January 1, 2016, the law enforcement’s
crime lab shall do one of the following:

1. Process sexual assault forensic evidence, creating DNA profiles
when able, and upload qualifying DNA profiles into CODIS as
soon as practically possible, but no later than 120 days after
initial receipt; or

2. Transmit sexual assault forensic evidence to another crime lab for
DNA processing as soon as practically possible, but no later than
30 days after initial receipt. The transmitting crime lab shall upload
into CODIS any qualifying DNA profiles from sexual assault
forensic evidence as soon as practically possible, but no longer
than 30 days after being notified about the presence of DNA and
no later than 120 days after the transmitting crime lab initially
receives the evidence.

(PC 680(c)(2), Stats. 2019, Ch. 588.)

(05) Total Direct Costs

Indirect Costs

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%)] %
(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]
(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) plus line (07)]

Cost Reduction

(09) Less: Offsetting Revenues (see Attachment A)

(10) Less: Other Reimbursements

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) minus {line (09) plus line (10)}]

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS: TESTING FORM

CLAIM SUMMARY
3 7 8 INSTRUCTIONS 1

(01)
(02)

(03)

(04)

(05)

(06)

(07)

(08)

(09)

(10)

(11)

Enter the name of the claimant.
Enter the fiscal year of costs.

If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department.
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department.

For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h), to
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. Total each row.

Note: Please refer to the parameters and guidelines for the details of the reimbursable activities.
Total columns (a) through (f).

Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used,
include the ICRP with the claim.

Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR,
Chapter | and Chapter Il, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total
Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%, excluding fringe benefits. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable
costs used in the distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost
Rate, line (06). If more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the
program.

Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07).

If applicable, enter any offsetting revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any source,
including but not limited to service fees collected, federal funds, other state funds, and other funds
that are not the claimant’s proceeds of taxes. The funds listed on Attachment A must be identified as
offsetting revenues if used by the claimant to pay for the mandated activities in this program.
Complete Attachment A detailing all offsetting revenues.

If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.

From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09),
and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward
to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim.

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM ATTACHMENT
SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS: TESTING
3 7 8 DETAILED SUMMARY OF OFFSETTING REVENUES A
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20 /20
OFFSETTING REVENUES Amount

1.

Citizens Option for Public Safety Grant (COPS) (State)

DNA Capacity Enhancement and Backlog Reduction Program (Federal)

DNA Identification Fund (State)

Sexual Assault Evidence Submission Grant Program (State)

Any other funds received and applied to the reimbursable activities, including but not
limited to service fees collected, federal funds, other state funds, and other funds that
are not the claimant’s proceeds of taxes.

TOTAL OFFSETTING REVENUES

Revised 10/2024



State of California
State Controller’s Office Mandated Cost Manual for Local Agencies

PROGRAM FORM
SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS: TESTING

3 7 8 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 2

(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20__ /20

(03) Reimbursable Activities: Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed.

A. A law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction a sex B, For any sexual assault forensic evidence received on or after

offense specified in Penal Code (PC) sections 261, 261.5,  january 1, 2016, the law enforcement’s crime lab shall do one of the
262, 286, 287, 289, or former section 288a occurred shall  fojlowing:

do one of the following for any sexual assault forensic
evidence received by the law enforcement agency on or
after January 1, 2016:

[ 1. Submit sexual assault forensic evidence to the crime [ 1. Process sexual assault forensic evidence, creating DNA profiles
lab within 20 days after booked into evidence; or when able, and upload qualifying DNA profiles into CODIS as soon
as practically possible, but no later than 120 days after initial
receipt; or
[ 2. Ensure that a rapid turnaround DNA program is in [ 2. Transmit sexual assault forensic evidence to another crime lab for
place (with a written agreement between the law DNA processing as soon as practically possible, but no later than
enforcement agency, the crime lab, and the medical 30 days after initial receipt. The transmitting crime lab shall upload
facility pursuant to PC section 680(c)(5)) to submit into CODIS any qualifying DNA profiles from sexual assault
sexual assault forensic evidence directly from the forensic evidence as soon as practically possible, but no longer
medical facility examining the victim to the crime lab than 30 days after being notified about the presence of DNA and no
within five days. (PC 680(c)(1), Stats. 2019, Ch. 588.) later than 120 days after the transmitting crime lab initially receives
the evidence. (PC 680(c)(2), Stats. 2019, Ch. 588.)
(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts
@) (b) (c) (d) (e) ) (9 (h)
Employee Names, Job Hourly Hours Salaries Benefits Materials Contract Fixed
Classifications, Functions Performed, Rate or Worked or and Services Assets
and Description of Expenses Unit Cost Quantity Supplies

(05) Total | | Subtotal [ | Page: of

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM

378

SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS: TESTING
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL
INSTRUCTIONS

FORM

2

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.

(02) Enter the fiscal year of costs.

(03) Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity.

Note: Please refer to the parameters and guidelines for the details of the reimbursable activities.

(04) The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To itemize
costs for the activity checked in block (03), enter each employee name, job classification, a brief
description of the activities performed, productive hourly rate, actual time spent, fringe benefits, supplies
used, contract services, and fixed assets. The descriptions required in column (04)(a) must be of sufficient
detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed.

Required Documentation to Support Reimbursable Costs
Object Columns Submit
Accounts Supporting
Documents
(@) (b) (© (d) (e) () (9) (h) with the Claim
Employee Salaries equal
Salaries Name and Job Hourly Hours Hourly Rate
e Rate Worked times Hours
Classification
Worked
- ) Benefits equal
Benefits Activities Benefit Benefit Rate
Performed Rate . -
times Salaries
. - Costs equal
Materials Description Unit Quantity Unit Cost
and of . .
Supplies Supplies Used Cost Used times Quantity
Used
Costs equal
CName of Hours Worked Hourly Rate Copy of
Contract ontractor Hourl anq times Hours Contract
. and Y Inclusive
Services Specif Rate Worked or and
pecific Tasks Dates of T c .
Performed Service otal Contract Invoices
Cost
- Costs equal Copy of
Fixed DESCF.IptIOn to f Unit Cost U Total Cost Contract
Assets qupmen times Quantity sage times Usage and/or
urchased N ]
Not applicable Invoices
(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sums on this line. Check the appropriate box to

indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail activity costs, number
each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through
(e) in the appropriate row.

Revised 10/2024
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