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State-Mandated Costs Claiming Instructions No. 2007-04
Domestic Violence Arrests and Victim Assistance — Program No. 274
January 2, 2007
Revised October 1, 2024

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible
claimants may submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement
of costs incurred for state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming
instructions and forms that eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the
Domestic Violence Arrests and Victim Assistance program. SCO issues these
claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM)
adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are an
integral part of the claiming instructions and are located on CSM’s website.

On December 9, 2004, CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test
claim legislation imposed a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies
within the meaning of Article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and

GC section 17514.

Exception

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

Eligible Claimants

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased
costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement.
Reimbursement Claim Deadline

Pursuant to GC section 17560(a), annual reimbursement claims may be filed by
February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the deadline
falls on a weekend or holiday, claims are due the following business day. Claims filed
after the deadline must be reduced by a late penalty. Claims filed more than one
year after the deadline will not be accepted.

Penalty
e Initial Reimbursement Claim

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a
late penalty of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation
pursuant to GC section 17561(d)(3).

¢ Annual Reimbursement Claim
When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a

late penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to
GC section 17568.


https://www.csm.ca.gov/decisions/98tc14pg.pdf

Minimum Claim Cost

GC section 17564 (a) states that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 17551 and
17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs
may be claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents
that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship
to the reimbursable activities. A source document is created at or near the same time
the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents
may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in
sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to,
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts,
agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification
or declaration stating: “I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of
the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” and must further comply
with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal
government requirements. However, these documents cannot be substituted for
source documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to
the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in
accordance with the SCQO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by CSM.
If any adjustments are made to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount
adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment.

On-site audits will be conducted by SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to

GC section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is
subject to audit by SCO no later than three years after the date the actual
reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later.

However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for
the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for SCO to
initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.



Record Retention

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained during the period
subject to audit and made available to the SCO upon request. The period subject to
audit is at a minimum, three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is
filed or last amended, whichever is later, or, if no funds are appropriated or no
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is
filed, three years after the date of initial payment of the claim. If an audit has been
initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended
until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting documents must be made
available to the SCO on request.

Claim Submission

Electronic submissions of the signed Form FAM-27, all other forms, and supporting
documentation are accepted through an online file transfer protocol called the Data
Exchange Portal (DEP). All information regarding DEP is available on the SCO’s
website.

If submitting via mail, submit the documents listed for electronic submission and
include an additional copy of the Form FAM-27 to:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Local Government Programs and Services Division
P.O. Box 942850

Sacramento, CA 94250

Address, if delivered by other delivery service:

Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Local Government Programs and Services Division
3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email.


https://www.sco.ca.gov/submitaclaimelectronically.html
mailto:LRSLGPSD@sco.ca.gov

State of California
State Controller's Office

Mandated Cost Manual for Local Agencies

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS
AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT FORM

For State Controller's Office Use Only PROGRAM
(19) Program Number 00274

(20) Date Filed 2 74

(21) LRS Input

(01) Claimant Identification Number

Reimbursement Claim Data

(02) Claimant Name

(22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (f)

County of Location

(23) [FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (f)

Street Address or P.O. Box and Suite

(24) FORM 1, (04) A. 3. (f)

City, State, and Zip Code

(25) FORM 1, (04) B. L. (f)

(03) Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (06)
(04) (09) Reimbursement [] (27) [FORM 1, (07)
(05) (10) Combined [] (28) [FORM 1, (09)
(06) (11) Amended (] (29) [FORM 1, (10)
(07) (12) Fiscal Year of Cost (30)
(08) (13) Total Claimed Amount (32)
(14) Less: 10% Late Penalty (32)
(15) Less: Prior Claim Payment Received (33)
(16) Net Claimed Amount (34)
(17) Due from State (35)
(18) Due to State (36)

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM

Title 1 of the Government Code.

the claimant.

attached statements.

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code sections 17560 and 17561, | certify that | am the officer
authorized by the local agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and
certify under penalty of perjury that | have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of

| further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s)
received, for reimbursement of costs claimed herein, and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level
of services of an existing program. All offsetting revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and
guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently maintained by

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer

Date Signed

Telephone Number

Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory

Email Address

(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim

Telephone Number

Email Address

Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer

Telephone Number

Email Address

Revised 10/2024




State of California

State Controller's Office Mandated Cost Manual for Local Agencies
PROGRAM DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE FORM
274 CLAIM FOR PAYMENT EAM.27
INSTRUCTIONS i

(01)
(02)

(03) to (08)
(09)
(10)
(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

(19) to (21)

Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office.

Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address,
city, state, and zip code.

Leave blank.
If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.
Not applicable.

If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11)
Amended.

Enter the fiscal year in which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more
than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete a separate Form FAM-27 for each
fiscal year.

Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1, line (11). The
total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum claim must be $1,001.

Initial reimbursement claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions.
Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or as specified in the
claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims
filed after the specified date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim
was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the result from the following penalty calculation
formula:

e Late Initial Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%,
without limitation; or

e Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by
10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000.

Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was
received, enter zero.

Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line
(13).

If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from
State.

If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to
State.

Leave blank.

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM

274

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE FORM
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT

FAM-27

INSTRUCTIONS (CONTINUED)

(22) to (29)

(30) to (36)
(37)

(38)

Revised 10/2024

Bring forward the cost information as specified in the left-hand column of lines (22)
through (29) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., Form 1, (04) A. 1. (f), means the
information is located on Form 1, block (04), line A. 1., column (f). Enter the information
on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to
the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. The indirect costs percentage should be shown as a
whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35.
Completion of this data block will expedite the process.

Leave blank.

Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be signed and dated by
the agency’s authorized officer, and include their typed or printed name, title,
telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by
an original signed certification. Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink or electronic
signature. If submitting by U.S. Postal Service or by other delivery service, attach a
copy of the FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.

Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person
for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a consultant, type or print the name of the
consulting firm, claim preparer, telephone number, and email address.

Electronic submissions of the signed Form FAM-27, all other forms, and
supporting documentation are accepted through an online file transfer protocol
called the Data Exchange Portal (DEP). All information regarding DEP is
available on the SCO’s website.

If submitting via mail, submit the documents listed for electronic submission and
include an additional copy of the Form FAM-27 to:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Local Government Programs and Services Division
P.O. Box 942850

Sacramento, CA 94250

Address, if delivered by other delivery service:

Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Local Government Programs and Services Division
3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email.



https://www.sco.ca.gov/submitaclaimelectronically.html
mailto:LRSLGPSD@sco.ca.gov

State of California
State Controller’s Office

Mandated Cost Manual for Local Agencies

PROGRAM FORM
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE

2 74 CLAIM SUMMARY 1

(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20 /20
(03) Department
Direct Costs Object Accounts
@ (b) (©) (d) (e ®
- Salari Benefit Material Contract Fixed Total
(04) Reimbursable Activities dlaries | Benefis | Materials | Contract | Fixed ot
Supplies

A. One-Time Activities

1. Print Victim Cards

2. Add Two New Crimes to Response Policy

3. Add Information to Response Policy
B. Ongoing Activity

1. Provide Cards to Victims
(05) Total Direct Costs
Indirect Costs
(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%] %

(07) Total Indirect Costs

[Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs

[Line (05)(f) plus line (07)]

Cost Reduction

(09) Less: Offsetting Revenues

(10) Less: Other Reimbursements

(11) Total Claimed Amount

[Line (08) minus {line (09) plus line (10)}]

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE FORM

2 74 CLAIM SUMMARY 1
INSTRUCTIONS

(01)
(02)

(03)

(04)

(05)

(06)

(07)

(08)

(09)

(10)

(11

Enter the name of the claimant.
Enter the fiscal year of costs.

If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department.
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department.

For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h), to
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. Total each row.

Total columns (a) through (f).

Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used,
include the ICRP with the claim.

Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter
I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line
(05)(a), by 10%, excluding fringe benefits. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in
the distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If
more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program.

Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07).

If applicable, enter any offsetting revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or
federal source. Submit a schedule detailing the revenue sources and amounts.

If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.

From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim.

Revised 10/2024
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PROGRAM FORM
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE
2 74 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 2
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20__ /20___

(03) Reimbursable Activities: Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed.
A. One-Time Activities B. Ongoing Activity
|:| 1. Print Victim Cards |:| 1. Provide Cards to Victims
|:| 2. Add Two New Crimes to Response Policy

|:| 3. Add Information to Response Policy

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts
@) (b) (© (d) (e) ® © (h)
Employee Names, Job Hourly Hours Salaries Benefits Materials Contract Fixed
Classifications, Functions Performed, Rate or Worked or and Services Assets
and Description of Expenses Unit Cost Quantity Supplies

(05) Total I:I Subtotal I:I Page: of

Revised 10/2024
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State Controller’s Office Mandated Cost Manual for Local Agencies

PROGRAM DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE FORM
2 74 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 2
INSTRUCTIONS

(01) Enter the name of the claimant.

(02) Enter the fiscal year of costs.

(03) Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity.

(04) The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To
itemize costs for the activity checked in block (03), enter each employee name, job classification, a
brief description of the activities performed, productive hourly rate, actual time spent, fringe benefits,
supplies used, contract services, and fixed assets. The descriptions required in column (04)(a) must
be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed.

Required Documentation to Support Reimbursable Costs
Submit
Object Columns Supporting
Accounts Documents
@ (b) © () © M © (h) with the Claim
Employee Salaries equal
. Name and Hourly Hours Hourly Rate
Salaries Job Rate Worked times Hours
Classification Worked
Benefits
’ " Benefit equal
Benefits Ii;;grlﬁhe:d Rate Bengfit Rate
times Salaries
Materials Description Costs equal
and of Unit Quantity Unit Cost
; Supplies Cost Used times Quantity
Supplies Used Used
Name of Hours Costs equal
Contractor Hourly Rate Copy of
Contract and Hourly Wlorkled_ and times Hours Contract
Services Specific Rate Sctusw? Worked or and/or
Tasks Sir?/?cg Total Contract Invoices
Performed Cost
Fixed Description Costs equal
Assets of Equipment |  Unit Cost Usage Unit Cost
Purchased times Usage
(05) Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sums on this line. Check the appropriate box to

indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail activity costs,
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row.

Revised 10/2024
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