Office of the State Controller State-Mandated Costs Claiming Instructions No. 2006-01 Crime Victim's Domestic Violence Incident Reports – Program No. 262 February 14, 2006 Revised October 1, 2024

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may submit claims to the State Controller's Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Crime Victim's Domestic Violence Incident Reports program. SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are an integral part of the claiming instructions and are located on CSM's website.

On September 25, 2003, CSM (formerly the State Board of Control) adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim legislation imposed a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning of Article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514.

Exception

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

Eligible Claimants

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, which incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement.

Reimbursement Claim Deadline

Pursuant to GC section 17560(a), annual reimbursement claims may be filed by **February 15** following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the deadline falls on a weekend or holiday, claims are due the following business day. Claims filed after the deadline must be reduced by a late penalty. **Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted.**

Penalty

Initial Reimbursement Claims

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 17561(d)(3).

Annual Reimbursement Claims

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty of 10% of the claim amount; \$10,000 maximum penalty, pursuant to GC section 17568.

Minimum Claim Cost

GC section 17564(a) states that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars (**\$1,000**).

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: "I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct," and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the SCO's claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment.

On-site audits will be conducted by SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to audit by SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later.

However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.

Record Retention

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained during the period subject to audit and made available to the SCO upon request. The period subject to audit is at a minimum, three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later, or, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, three years after the date of initial payment of the claim. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting documents must be made available to the SCO on request.

Claim Submission

Electronic submissions of the signed Form FAM-27, all other forms, and supporting documentation are accepted through an online file transfer protocol called the **Data Exchange Portal (DEP).** All information regarding **DEP** is available on the SCO's website.

If submitting via mail, submit the documents listed for electronic submission and include an additional copy of the Form FAM-27 to:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Local Government Programs and Services Division
P.O. Box 942850
Sacramento, CA 94250

Address, if delivered by other delivery service:

Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Local Government Programs and Services Division
3301 C Street, Suite 700
Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email.

CRIME VICTIM'S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS CLAIM FOR PAYMENT FORM			For State Controller's Office Use Only (19) Program Number 00262 (20) Date Filed (21) LRS Input				
(01) Clai	mant Identification Number		Reimbursement Claim Data				
(02) Clai	mant Name	(22)	FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (e)				
County of	of Location	(23)	FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (e)				
Street A	ddress or P.O. Box and Suite	(24)	FORM 1, (06)				
City, Sta	te, and Zip Code	(25)	FORM 1, (07)				
(03)	Type of Claim	(26)	FORM 1, (09)				
(04)	(09) Reimbursement	(27)	FORM 1, (10)				
(05)	(10) Combined	(28)					
(06)	(11) Amended	(29)					
(07)	(12) Fiscal Year of Cost	(30)					
(80)	(13) Total Claimed Amount	(31)					
(14) Less: 10% Late Penalty							
(15) Less: Prior Claim Payment Received							
(16) Net Claimed Amount							
(17) Due from State							
(18) Due	to State	(36)					

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 of the Government Code.

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received, for reimbursement of costs claimed herein, and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently maintained by the claimant.

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer	Date Signed	
	Telephone Number	
Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory	Email Address	

(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim	Telephone Number	
	Email Address	
Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer	Telephone Number	
	Email Address	

PROGRAM 262	CRIME VICTIM'S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS CLAIM FOR PAYMENT INSTRUCTIONS	FORM FAM-27			
(01)	Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller's	Office.			
(02)	Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box city, state, and zip code.	address,			
(03) to (08)	Leave blank.				
(09)	If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbu	rsement.			
(10)	If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the coan "X" in the box on line (10) Combined.	ounty, enter			
(11)	If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (Amended.	11)			
(12)	Enter the fiscal year in which actual costs are being claimed. If actual cost than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete a separate Form FAM-27 fiscal year.				
(13)	Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1, line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed \$1,000; minimum claim must be \$1,001.				
(14)	Initial reimbursement claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15 , or as specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the result from the following penalty calculation formula:				
	 Late Initial Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplic without limitation; or 	ed by 10%,			
	 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multip 10%, late penalty not to exceed \$10,000. 	olied by			
(15)	Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment received, enter zero.	was			
(16)	Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15 (13).) from line			
(17)	If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17) State.), Due from			
(18)	If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18 State.	3), Due to			
(19) to (21)	Leave blank.				

PROGRAM 262

CRIME VICTIM'S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS CLAIM FOR PAYMENT INSTRUCTIONS (CONTINUED)

FORM FAM-27

- (22) to (27) Bring forward the cost information as specified in the left-hand column of lines (22) through (27) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., Form 1, (04) A. 1. (e), means the information is located on Form 1, block (04), line A. 1., column (e). Enter the information on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. The indirect costs percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will expedite the process.
- (28) to (36) Leave blank.
 - (37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be signed and dated by the agency's authorized officer, and include their typed or printed name, title, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed certification. Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink or electronic signature. If submitting by U.S. Postal Service or by other delivery service, attach a copy of the FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.
 - (38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, claim preparer, telephone number, and email address.

Electronic submissions of the signed Form FAM-27, all other forms, and supporting documentation are accepted through an online file transfer protocol called the Data Exchange Portal (DEP). All information regarding DEP is available on the SCO's website.

If submitting via mail, submit the documents listed for electronic submission and include an additional copy of the Form FAM-27 to:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Local Government Programs and Services Division
P.O. Box 942850
Sacramento, CA 94250

Address, if delivered by other delivery service:

Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Local Government Programs and Services Division
3301 C Street, Suite 700
Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email.

PROGRAM 262	CRIME VICTIM'S	FORM 1					
(01) Claiman	t		(02)				
(03) Departme	ent						
Direct Costs			0	bject Account	s		
(04) Reimburs	able Activities	(a) Salaries	(b) Benefits	(c) Materials and Supplies	(d) Fixed Assets	(e) Total	
A. One-Time A	Activity Dicies and Procedures						
B. Ongoing Activity 1. Store Reports and Face Sheets		[Unit co	(See instructions) [Unit cost includes direct and indirect costs]				
(05) Total Dire	ect Costs		Add Total Column				
Indirect Costs	s						
(06) Indirect (Cost Rate		[10% or ICRP]				
(07) Total Ind	(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]			·]			
(08) Total Dir	ect and Indirect Costs		[Line (05)(e) plus line (07)]				
Cost Reduction	on					1	
(09) Less: O	ffsetting Revenues						
(10) Less: O	ther Reimbursements						
(11) Total Cla	aimed Amount	[L	[Line (08) minus {line (09) plus line (10)}]				

PROGRAM 262

CRIME VICTIM'S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS CLAIM SUMMARY INSTRUCTIONS

FORM

- (01) Enter the name of the claimant.
- (02) Enter the fiscal year of costs.
- (03) If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department.
- (04) A.1. For reimbursable activity A.1., enter the total from Form 2, line (05), columns (d), through (g) to Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (d) in the appropriate row.
 - B.1. (e) Enter the product of the unit cost, multiplied by the number of domestic violence incident reports stored during the fiscal year of claim for the additional three-year period after the pre-existing mandatory two-year retention period. Please visit SCO's website for the current unit cost rate.
 - [(Current Year Index divided by Base Year Index) times Base Year Actual Unit Cost equals Current Year Actual Unit Cost Rate]
- (05) Total column (e).
- (06) Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the ICRP with the claim. (Applicable to Activity A.1. only.)
- (07) Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a department's ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%, excluding fringe benefits. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program.
- (08) Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(e), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07).
- (09) If applicable, enter any offsetting revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal source. Submit a schedule detailing the revenue sources and amounts.
- (10) If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.
- (11) From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form FAM-27, line (13), of the Reimbursement Claim.

PROGRAM	
262	

CRIME VICTIM'S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS ACTIVITY COST DETAIL

FORM **2**

262	ACTIVI	IY COST DI	= I AIL			2
(01) Claimant			(02)		<u> </u>	Fiscal Year
			20	/20		
(03) Reimbursable Activity						
A. One-Time Activity						
1. Revision of Policies and Pro	ocedures					
(04) Description of Expenses				Object A	ccounts	
(a)	(b)	(c)	(d)	(e)	(f)	(g)
Employee Names, Job Classifications, Functions Performed, Description of Expenses	Hourly Rate or Unit Cost	Hours Worked or Quantity	Salaries	Benefits	Materials and Supplies	Fixed Assets
(05) Total Subtotal Page:	of					

PROGRAM
262

CRIME VICTIM'S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS ACTIVITY COST DETAIL INSTRUCTIONS

FORM

- 2
- (01) Enter the name of the claimant. If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A separate Form 2 must be completed for each department.
- (02) Enter the fiscal year of costs.
- (03) Costs incurred for this activity are to be detailed on Form 2.
- (04) The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To itemize costs for the activity specified in block (03), enter each employee name, job classification, a brief description of the activities performed, productive hourly rate, actual time spent, fringe benefits, supplies used, and fixed assets. The descriptions required in column (04)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed.

Object Accounts	Columns							Submit these Supporting
Accounts	(a)	(b)	(c)	(d)	(e)	(f)	(g)	Documents with the Claim
Salaries	Employee Name and Job Classification	Hourly Rate	Hours Worked	Salaries equal Hourly Rate times Hours Worked				
Benefits	Activities Performed	Benefit Rate			Benefits equal Benefit Rate times Salaries			
Materials and Supplies	Description of Supplies Used	Unit Cost				Costs equal Unit Cost times Quantity Used		
Fixed Assets	Description of Equipment Purchased	Unit Cost times Quantity					Costs equal Total Cost times Usage	Copy of Contract and/or Invoices

(05) Total line (04), column (d) through column (g), and enter the sums on this line. Check the appropriate box to indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail activity costs, number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (g) to Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (d) in the appropriate row.