
Step 1   Identify Unclaimed Property 
Holders must review their books and records annually to determine if they have reportable property, 
whether tangible or intangible, that has remained unclaimed or in inactive accounts for the required 
dormancy period. For examples of unclaimed property, refer to the Unclaimed Property Dormancy 
Periods section of this guideline or visit www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg.html. 
 

Step 2   Perform Holder Due Diligence 
Due diligence is the process of locating apparent owners of property that has remained dormant or 
inactive on a holder’s books and records. Holders must send notices to owners of securities, safe 
deposit boxes, and property with a value of $50 or more prior to reporting the accounts to the State 
Controller’s Office (SCO). For complete requirements for notifying owners of unclaimed property and to 
view a sample due diligence letter, visit www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg.html. 

 
Step 3   Submit a Holder Notice Report 

California has an annual two-report process. The Holder Notice Report is the first step in the two-report 
process. The Holder Notice Report is due before November 1 of each year (May 1 for life insurance 
companies). Properties should not be remitted or delivered with the Holder Notice Report; any property 
received with this report will be returned to the holder. The SCO accepts the standard NAUPA II 
reporting format. For a link to free reporting software, visit www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg.html. 

 
Step 4   Respond to Owner Claims Resulting from SCO Notices  

After receiving the Holder Notice Report, the SCO sends its own due diligence notices to reported 
owners of securities, safe deposit boxes, and property valued at $50 or more. These notices instruct 
property owners to contact the holder to claim their unclaimed property before it is escheated to the 
SCO. If the property owner contacts the holder to claim their unclaimed property before the required 
Holder Remit Report due date of June 1 (December 1 for life insurance companies), the property is no 
longer considered dormant. Once contact has been made, the holder should return the property directly 
to the property owner. 
 

Step 5   Submit a Holder Remit Report and Remittance  
The Holder Remit Report is the second step in the two-report process. The Holder Remit Report is 
normally due between June 1 and June 15 of each year (December 1 and December 15 for life 
insurance companies). Property not yet claimed by the owner must be remitted with the Holder Remit 
Report. For owner accounts that are no longer unclaimed, the holder may either exclude the owner 
accounts from the report entirely, or include the owner accounts with an appropriate pay or deletion type 
code and show the property remit amount as zero. The Holder Remit Report should not include any 
property unreported on the original Holder Notice Report. If more unclaimed property is identified, it 
must be reported on a Supplemental Holder Notice Report. 
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The Unclaimed Property Law allows the state to reunite lost and 
abandoned property with its rightful owner(s) and to safeguard 
these properties from being used by private interests for personal 
gain.    
 
What is unclaimed property? 
Unclaimed property is generally defined as any financial asset that has 
been left inactive by the owner for a period of time specified by law, 
usually three years. The California Unclaimed Property Law does not 
address real estate or abandoned personal property.   
 
Why must holders report unclaimed property? 
California’s Unclaimed Property Law (California Code of Civil 
Procedure, section 1500 et seq.) was enacted to ensure that property is 
returned to its rightful owner(s) and to relieve holders of the burden and 
liability of carrying or maintaining the property. The law requires 
businesses to review their books and records annually to determine if 
they hold any reportable property and provides California citizens a 
single source, the State Controller’s Office (SCO), to search for 
unclaimed property. 
 
Who must file and unclaimed property report? 
 Business associations, banking and financial organizations, and life 

insurance corporations 
 Non-profits, sole-proprietorships, and partnerships 
 Other entities holding property belonging to another 

  

This is a general guideline for dormancy periods for certain 
types of property. For more details, visit  
www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg.html.  

 
One Year  
 Commissions; Ordered Refunds; Wages  

Three Years  
Cashier’s Checks; Demand Deposits (checking); Dividends; 
Interest; IRAs & Retirement Plans; Life Insurance Benefits, 
Escrow Accounts, Matured Time Deposits; Safe Deposit 
Boxes; Safekeeping Repositories; Savings; Stocks and 
Bonds; Written Instruments (uncashed checks) and Other 
Tangible and Intangible Property. 
 

Seven Years  

Money Orders  
 

Fifteen Years  

Travelers Checks  

 

DORMANCY PERIODS 

IMPORTANT DATES 
 

Life Insurance Holders 

 
 Before May 1 

 Holder Notice Report  
 Due Date 
 

Mid-October 

 SCO Deadline to Send  
 Owner Notices 

 
 December 1 - 15 

 Holder Remit Report  
 Due Date 

 
All Other Holders 

 
 Before November 1 

 Holder Notice Report  
 Due Date 
 
 Mid-April 

 SCO Deadline to Send  
 Owner Notices 

 
 June 1 - 15 

 Holder Remit Report  
 Due Date 
 

 

 

California State Controller’s Office 
Unclaimed Property Division 

10600 White Rock Road, Suite 141 
Rancho Cordova, CA 

95670 
 

www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg.html  

 
Outreach and Compliance 

(916) 464-6088 
UPDHolderOutreach@sco.ca.gov 

 
Reporting Assistance 

(916) 464-6284 
UCPReporting@sco.ca.gov 

 
Claims Assistance 

(800) 992-4647 
www.claimit.ca.gov 
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