
California Code of Regulations Title 2, Section 1155.150  

Participation in the Electronic Funds Transfer. 

(a) Mandatory Participation 

A holder of cash unclaimed property in an amount of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) or more 
is required to deliver the cash unclaimed property to the State Controller's Office through the 
electronic funds transfer program. 

(b) Voluntary Participation 
A holder of cash unclaimed property in an amount less than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) 
may voluntarily pay cash unclaimed property to the State Controller's Office through the 
electronic funds transfer program, however, participation in the electronic funds transfer process 
is not mandatory. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1532, Code of Civil Procedure. Reference: Section 1532, Code of Civil 
Procedure. 

 

 

 

California Code of Regulations Title 2, Section 1155.200 

 

Liability for Civil Penalty of 2 Percent of the Amount of the Payment. 

Holders remitting $2,000.00 or more of unclaimed property in any form other than electronic 
funds transfer shall be assessed a 2% penalty of the amount of the payment. A holder seeking 
relief from the penalty must file a written "Declaration Under Penalty of Perjury" statement 
espousing the conditions for failing to use one of the authorized electronic funds transfer 
processes available to them. The holder can be relieved of the penalties if the failure to remit via 
electronic funds transfer is due to reasonable cause and circumstances beyond the holder's 
control, and occurred notwithstanding the exercise of ordinary care and in the absence of willful 
neglect. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 1532, Code of Civil Procedure. Reference: Section 1532, Code of 
Civil Procedure. 

 

 


